Dear Facebook…

August 28, 2011

Scribbling

Duty Calls

“duty calls” – xkcd

I wanted to let you know up front that I’ve been seeing this other social network. Her name is Google Plus – sorry, Google+. Well it’s important to her, apparently. Anyway, I was invited to her house recently with some friends, and it was all good fun. But we’re just friends getting to know each other. I mean you and I, we go back. We have history together.

I remember how it all started. Just like any new relationship, I mostly presented the face that I wanted you to see, that I was comfortable with you seeing. And as time went on, more layers became apparent. Intentionally…or not. We learned things about each other – and ourselves, trying on different hats to see which we thought looked proper for us and which seemed effective for our intentions. And just like – you know – real life, sometimes for better or worse.

Like a bad cop movie (in both senses of the term) I found myself too often becoming what I hated. I learned how easily I could become a real jerk in the process of telling people they were being real jerks. Being a somewhat spoiled American myself, my pop culture reflection on this evokes Akroyd in “Tommy Boy” saying, “Great, kid, you’ve pinpointed it. Step two is washing it out.”

The wonderful part has always been the people you helped me connect with or introduced me to. People who liked to talk about things more esoteric too often in these parts. People who knew things I did not. People who knew of things I did not. People who disagreed with me for thoughtful reasons…or what appeared to be not. Still, usually something to learn there, too. So many unique people. I’ve enjoyed the benefit of sharing with them, learning from them, debating with them, and arguing with them. I am humbly the better for it, and I will always love you for that.

So please do not be threatened by my new friend. As I said, we are still in the early stages of getting to know each other and what our relationship might be. The inherent early rush of something new is already starting to wane, so the less romantic aspects should better determine where we go from here. And please do not think you should adopt some of her affectations in order to keep my interest. You are what you are. I am what I am. Let’s just both keep trying to figure out how to be the best at that, and all in all I think things will be just fine…

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments on “Dear Facebook…”

  1. Lydia Says:

    My God..that is fantastic! I am old school and am not adventurous enough to change up my life (social network) at this time. I so admire your courage for trying new things and admitting that the grass may not be greener on the other side. Sometimes it is better the devil you know then the devil you don’t!

    Reply

  2. Andra Watkins Says:

    This expresses my sentiments about the whole thing perfectly. I wish more people were on G+. I might spend more time there if they were. As it stands, I ended up going back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth, and I finally refocused on FB.

    Reply

    • Brett Myers Says:

      I recently checked out Hootsuite for the first time, Andra. I’m usually way behind the curve like that. When they add Google+ to the palette, I will more seriously consider it…

      Reply

  3. kateshrewsday Says:

    I’m fickle. I’m off to check out the other woman.

    Reply

  4. Eden Says:

    I remember reading this one before and not commenting… I should have. Have you met my new friend Diaspora? 😉

    Reply

  5. Lisa M Says:

    Awesome repost. People need more positives in their lives. +

    Reply

  6. Ms. Bossy Boots Says:

    EXCELLENT, Brett! Thank you! Hope it’s okay, I’m sharing on…FB!

    Reply

Talk to me, cute thing:

